Winter Athletics Awards 2021: A Unique Season to Celebrate Our Student-Athletes

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Google+
The New Hampton School community gathered Tuesday, March 30 to celebrate all of our winter student-athletes and teams on their season of competition. This season was highlighted with exceptional teamwork and sportsmanship amid a pandemic backdrop, but with continued health and wellness at the forefront of each week, the Huskies were always ready to compete with their fellow Lakes Region League schools. The student-athletes and team collaborations throughout the season filled the community with pride and excitement.
Please join us in congratulating the students below for their leadership and skillful contributions this season.

Lakes Region All-Stars 2021

  • Women’s Varsity Basketball
    Seraphina Hodgson ’21 & Oluchi Nnadozie-Okananwa ’23
  • Men’s Varsity Basketball
    Kyle Hicks ’22 & Alex Karaban ’22
  • Women’s Varsity Hockey
    Avery Callison ’23 & Ava Gosnell ’22
  • Men’s Varsity Hockey
    Ben Luscko ’21 & Ronny Paragallo ’21
  • McDonalds All-American Game Nomination
    Seraphina Hodgson ’21

Winter Athletics Awards 2021

  • Women’s Varsity Basketball
    Coaches: Ms. Sherburne, Ms. DiBari ’08 & Mr. Ladd
    Coaches’ Award – Emily Greenwood ’22
    Most Valuable Player – Oluchi Nnadozi-Okananwa ’23
    Vazifdar Award – Seraphina Hodgson ’21
  • Women’s JV Basketball
    Coaches: Ms. Santos
    Coaches’ Award – Kaelin Fitzpatrick ’24
    Most Improved Player Award – Ava Millerick ’24
  • Men’s Varsity A Basketball 
    Coaches: Mr. Gale, Mr. Burns & Mr. Daye
    Coaches’ Award – Evan Guillary ’21
    Richardson Award – Alex Karaban ’22
    Gnerre Basketball Award – Jensen Daly ’21
  • Men’s Varsity B Basketball
    Coaches: Mr. Daye & Mr. Cramer
    Coaches’ Award – Ryan LeBrun ’22
    Most Valuable Player Award – Hugh Barrett ’21
  • Men’s JV A Basketball
    Coaches: Mr. Love ’16 & Mr. Morel
    Coaches’ Award – Rogan Coyne ’23
    Most Improved Player Award – Leon Schuette ’21
  • Men’s JV B Basketball
    Coaches: Mr. Estridge & Mr. Frame
    Coaches’ Award – Nicolo Anastasy ’24
    Most Improved Player Award – Owen Romanek ’24
  • Women’s Varsity Hockey
    Coaches: Mr. Churchill & Ms. Kent
    Coaches’ Award – Callie McLaughlin ’21
    212 Award – Ava Gosnell ’22
    Paul Family Hockey Award – Courtney Colarullo ’21
  • Women’s JV Hockey
    Coaches: Ms. MacKenzie & Mrs. MacLeod ’02
    Coaches’ Award – Sarai Nicolosi ’22
    Most Improved Player Award – Emma Morel ’24
  • Men’s Varsity Hockey
    Coaches: Mr. Gorman ’11 & Mr. Ellis
    Coaches’ Award – Ben Luscko ’21
    Friends of Hockey – Andrew Sayles ’21
    Ambassador Award – Marek Pechr ’21
    Gall Hockey Award – Ronny Paragallo ’21
  • Men’s Varsity B Hockey
    Coaches: Mr. Henry & Mr. Fay
    Coaches’ Award – MacLain Boyd ’23
    Most Valuable Player Award – Joe Grecco ’24
  • Alpine Ski Team
    Coaches: Mr. Heartz & Mrs. McClure
    Coaches’ Award – Zoe Davol ’22
    Bixby Ski Award – Molly Coyle ’23
  • Freeski Team
    Coaches: Mr. Conkling ’85
    Coaches’ Award – Ben Albro ’21
    Most Valuable Freeskier – Sydney Marcus ’23
  • Snowboarding Team
    Coaches: Mr. Tobin & Mr. Driscoll
    Coaches’ Award – Will Bradbury ’23
    Most Valuable Snowboarder – DJ Roberts ’22

2021 winter men's varsity hockey team

Named Award Descriptions


The Gall Hockey Award honors brothers Peter ’49 and Bill ’50 Gall. Although the pair never took to the New Hampton ice during the same season (a broken arm sidelined one of the Gall boys), each made a significant contribution in the early years of New Hampton Hockey. Later, in collegiate action, the pair went on to set the record for the highest-scoring line at Princeton University. The Gall Hockey Award recognizes that outstanding player who has contributed, not only to the team but also to the legacy of the New Hampton School’s hockey program.


In 1976 the parents of that year’s hockey team established this award to honor that player who contributed the most to the success of the team but was not necessarily the most talented skater on the ice. It is intended to go to that player—through sportsmanship, leadership, and work ethic—who sets the standard by which the rest of the team must compete.


This award is presented to that player whose love of hockey, respect for the game and their opponents, and determination to play with pride, dignity, and through adversity have distinguished them as a person of excellent character and as a goodwill ambassador for the sport of hockey and New Hampton School. It is established to honor the efforts and sportsmanship of the 2003-04 Men’s Varsity Hockey Team, players, and coaches.


During New Hampton’s first season of women’s ice hockey competition, Alison Paul emerged as the star of the team. Like her fellow teammates, Paul relied on her competitive spirit and love of the sport to override her lack of experience in the face of more seasoned opponents. The Paul Family Women’s Ice Hockey Award recognizes that female hockey player whose competitive spirit and good sportsmanship have contributed to furthering the success of New Hampton’s Women’s Ice Hockey team.


This award for the outstanding member of New Hampton’s Varsity Ski Team was established by former math department chairman and head ski coach, Peter Bixby. Bixby, who was responsible for the development of New Hampton School’s ski area on Burleigh Mountain, was committed to the skiers he coached and demanded the same dedication for his team. This award recognizes that skier whose performance was the result of a strong commitment to the team and him/herself.


In 1986, New Hampton School won its first New England Prep School Class “A” Basketball Championship. This achievement became a reality due to Head Master Lou Gnerre’s efforts to develop a national-caliber program. Gnerre’s enthusiasm and commitment to New Hampton basketball helped create a program that became second to none. In acknowledging Gnerre’s vision and giving thanks for his efforts, this award was established to recognize that player who best exemplifies that competitive spirit and class, on and off the court, which Gnerre envisioned as the foundation for a winning program.


The Richardson Basketball Trophy was established by the family of alumnus and former trustee, Don Richardson, who distinguished himself as a great athlete during both his New Hampton and collegiate basketball careers. As an alumnus, he continued his interest in the New Hampton basketball program as a loyal fan. The Richardson Basketball Trophy is awarded to that basketball player who exhibits both superior athletic skills and a dedication to the team.


This award was established by Dr. J. Vazifdar, stepfather of Carrie Richard ’81. Carrie attended New Hampton for three years and was a major contributor to the women’s basketball program. Besides being a starter on an exceptional basketball team her senior year, Carrie also received the Valedictorian Medal as the top student in her graduating class. Carrie continued her basketball and academic excellence at Ohio Wesleyan University. Dr. Vazifdar established this award to recognized that student-athlete that exemplifies everything Carrie strived for while playing basketball at New Hampton: leadership, improvement, and dedication.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


An independent, college preparatory school for boarding and day students, grades 9-12 and postgraduate.

© Copyright 2020 New Hampton School