Athletic Hall of Fame Inducts 11th Class at New Hampton

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Google+

The New Hampton School Athletic Hall of Fame celebrates the exceptional coaches, players, teams, and loyal friends of New Hampton’s athletics who have made outstanding contributions both on the playing fields and in the community. Athletics at New Hampton is about more than the score. As is true for our current student-athletes, it is about hard work and commitment, relationships and teamwork, and pride and humility. These individuals and teams have helped bring distinction, recognition, honor, and pride to New Hampton School and its athletic tradition.

Charles J. Burch, Jr. P’73, ’74, ’84

A Tradition Since 2006

Following the weekend, framed pictures with each inductee’s details will be hung in the Moore Arts and Athletic Center, joining the current members in representing the history of achievement in athletics.

The Athletic Hall of Fame is a dream realized from the vision of many who have worked tirelessly to honor the legacy of student-athletes who made significant contributions to sport and the life of the New Hampton School community. As Director of Athletics Jamie Arsenault reminded us at a prior induction, “These individuals stand out not only as good athletes but as good citizens who have each made a difference in their respective communities.”

First established in 2006, the Athletic Hall of Fame honored new inductees annually through 2010, then every other year during Homecoming Weekend when New Hampton School hosted the Powder Keg Games. The ceremony now finds its home during Reunion Weekend for the first time.

Up from four categories initially, the school currently honors five categories: female athlete, male athlete (pre-1970 and post-1970, team, and—this year—two special commendations. The inductees understand that the team is always more important than any one participant and that working together brings the greatest success. Past inductees have included the likes of Euginnea Manseau ’01, Lisa Sher ’87, the 1965 Men’s Basketball Team, the 1995-96 Women’s Ice Hockey Team, Daryl MacLeod ’77, Darius Songaila ’98, not to mention many legendary coaches such as Joe Gauld, Lou Gnerre, Skip Howard, Mark Tilton, and Gara Field.

Annalisa Drew ’11

Meet our 11th Induction Class

Our 11th Class was honored in an induction ceremony on Saturday, June 3, as part of New Hampton’s Reunion Weekend. Please join us in congratulating the following honorees.

  • Coach Category:
    Charles J. Burch, Jr. P’73, ’74, ’84 
  • Male Athlete Category:
    Gordon B. Plumb ’60 (Pre-1970)
    Jamaal C. Branch ’00 (Post-1970)
  • Female Athlete Category:
    Annalisa Drew ’11 – Skiing
  • Team Category:
    The 1977-1978 Men’s Varsity Hockey Team
  • Special Commendations:
    The 1964-1965 Junior Varsity Football Team
    The 1965-1966 Junior Varsity Football Team
Jamaal C. Branch ’00

Nominate the Next Honorees

While alumni and coaches are nominated based on playing ability, integrity, sportsmanship, character, and their contributions to the team or teams on which they played, it is important to embrace their whole story. The Athletic Hall of Fame seeks to honor those that have enhanced the school’s athletic programs, community life, and professional attainments that have enhanced their prestige and added honor to New Hampton School. If you would like to nominate a coach or former teammate, please visit the nomination form online to submit them for consideration to the Athletic Hall of Fame Committee. Go Huskies!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


An independent, college preparatory school for boarding and day students, grades 9-12 and postgraduate.

© Copyright 2020 New Hampton School