Fall Athletics Awards 2019; Congratulations to our Student-Athletes

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Google+
The Fall Athletics Awards Ceremony was held in McEvoy Theater at New Hampton School on Thursday, November 21, and marked a celebratory end of the fall athletic season. Our coaches and Director of Athletics Jamie Arsenault provided highlights and honored several team members. Thank you to all of our student-athletes for another tremendous season of sportsmanship and achievement. Congratulations to all, including the students below who were recognized for their exceptional contributions of leadership and athleticism.
Photographs from the evening’s festivities are available on Flickr.
New Hampton School gathered to celebrate achievements in Fall Athletics on Thursday, November 21, in McEvoy Theater.

Athletics Awards

Cross Country
Coaches: Ms. Pechenik & Ms. Pereira
Coaches’ Award – Tristen Roman ’20
Most Improved Award – Ryan Carey ’23
Tottingham Award – Chihie Tokuyama ’20

Women’s Varsity Field Hockey
Coaches: Ms. Sivalingam & Ms. MacKenzie
Bekka Joslin Coaches’ Award – Nina Morel ’23
Most Valuable Player Award – Amelia Monahan ’21
Shackett-Berry Award – Elsa Cassidy ’20

Women’s Junior Varsity Field Hockey
Coaches: Ms. Bridgham & Ms. Shackett
Most Improved Player Award – Sarah LaCroix ’22
Coaches’ Award – Isa Healey ’23

Men’s Varsity Football
Coaches: Mr. Kiley, Mr. Carey, Mr. DeBenedictis, Mr. Estridge, Mr. Ladd & Mr. Moye
Coaches’ Award – Max Taylor ’20
Most Valuable Player Award – Ky’Juon Butler ’20
McLeod Award – David Henriquez ’20
Sterndale Award – Noah Bolduc ’20

Mountain Biking
Coaches: Mr. Conkling & Mr. Saler
Coaches’ Award – Sydney Marcus ’23
Most Valuable Rider Award – Jackson Gates ’22

Men’s Varsity Soccer
Coaches: Mr. Griffith & Mr. Driscoll
Coaches’ Award – Evan Britton ’21
Most Valuable Player Award – Will Wood ’20
Parlanti-Moss Award – Jack Wolf ’20

Men’s Junior Varsity Soccer
Coaches: Mr. Daye & Mr. Heartz
Most Improved Player Award – Shane Striebel ’21
Coaches’ Award – Evan Milchev ’23

Women’s Varsity Soccer
Coaches: Mr. Smith & Ms. Sherburne
Most Valuable Player Award – Alyssa Prentice ’22
Coaches Award – Seraphina Hodgson ’21
Gulick Award – Anna Shelden ’20

Women’s Junior Varsity Soccer
Coaches: Ms. Bird & Ms. Koester
Most Improved Player Award – Cathy Li ’21
Coaches’ Award – Jamie Holleran ’20

Visit the calendar to see the winter athletic schedule and join us for a game to cheer on our Huskies!

View the recorded event on NHS Live or photos of Fall Athletics Awards on Flickr.

Named Award Descriptions


This award was established in 1980 in memory of the late Donald Tottingham, a fine athlete, outstanding English teacher, and Cross Country Coach, who died in a tragic automobile accident following Commencement in 1979. Tottingham, an avid runner who trained for and competed in numerous marathons and road races, was an inspiration to many. His example influenced the lives of both students and faculty members during his three years at New Hampton School. Each year, this award recognizes that Cross Country runner whose discipline and determination commemorates Tottingham’s spirit.


The Shackett-Berry Field Hockey Award recognizes the spirited commitment to New Hampton School athletics displayed by Ralph Shackett
 ’59, Jennifer Shackett Berry ’83, Kelsey Berry
 ’07 and Emma Berry ’10–all of whom took their foundation as student-athletes from New Hampton School to the collegiate level. The recipient 
of this award is the student-athlete who humbly demonstrates a conscientious commitment to the betterment of the field hockey team. This young woman is the teammate who others most rely upon to advance and support the team on the field through skill, sportsmanship, and school pride. This student-athlete also carries these qualities off the field and into the classroom and campus life.


The U.S. Ambassador to Ireland (1957-61), Scott McLeod died unexpectedly in 1961 while his
 two sons, Van and Dan (NHS ’65), were freshmen. His family established the Scott McLeod Football Award to honor his memory. McLeod, an outstanding sportsman and athlete, received Sports Illustrated’s Silver Anniversary All-American award in recognition of his achievements both as a collegiate football player at Grinnell College (IA) and in his professional life. This award recognizes that football player who exhibits his qualities of outstanding spirit, courage, and sportsmanship.


Established in 1991, this award honors the memory of the late Richard Sterndale, former teacher and head football coach at New Hampton School from 1965 to 1968. Following two operations for brain tumors, Sterndale and his wife Joan returned to New Hampton. During the 1989 season, members of the football team, who made regular visits to help out at the Sterndale home, dedicated their championship season to the former coach. The Sterndale Award recognizes that football player whose contribution to the New Hampton football team began as an underclassman. This player has developed his skills and showed dedication and courage beyond the call of duty.


In 1959, two outstanding soccer players, Christian Parlanti and Thomas Moss, combined their talents to lead New Hampton School’s Varsity Soccer team, coached by David Rice, to an undefeated season. Later as alumni, they created the Parlanti- Moss Soccer Award to immortalize that historic season and to recognize that soccer player who best exemplifies the combination of talent, drive, determination, and team spirit of that victorious team. 


Former New Hampton Athletic Director
 Peter Gulick and his wife Ruth — whose daughters Phoebe ’80 and Robin ’82 played for the New Hampton School’s Varsity Women’s Soccer Team — were early supporters of New Hampton’s women’s athletic program. They established this award to recognize both the Women’s Soccer Team and particularly, the contributions of an outstanding female soccer player each season.


The Field Hockey Coaches’ Award is named in honor of longtime Head Coach Bekka Joslin, 2007-2017. Competitive, talented, and steadfast, Coach Joslin was an exceptional leader and mentor to athletes in the field hockey program. Her love of the sport and dedication to her teams are what this award’s recipients exemplify in turn.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


An independent, college preparatory school for boarding and day students, grades 9-12 and postgraduate.

© Copyright 2020 New Hampton School