Fall Athletic Season and Sportsmanship Celebrated at New Hampton School

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Google+
The Fall Athletics Awards Ceremony was held on December 3 to mark a celebratory end of the fall athletic season. In a unique semester containing not only fall athletics, but also winter and spring training sessions and scrimmages, our students were charged with exceptional responsibility in balancing health, academics, and training commitments. Additionally, our Lakes Region League was unique among northeastern prep schools as the only league able to compete in such a manner thanks to our close proximity and inter-school cooperation.
Our coaches along with the Director of Athletics Jamie Arsenault provided highlights and honored several team members. Thank you to all of our student-athletes for a season of commitment, sportsmanship, and achievement. Congratulations to all, including the students below who were recognized for their contributions in leadership and athleticism.

Athletics Awards

Rock Climbing
Coaches’ Award – Van Hansen ’23
Most Improved Climber Award – Laura Andrews ’22
Most Valuable Climber Award – Jason Feinstein ’21

Cross Country
Coaches’ Award – Julia Guadagno ’22
Most Improved Award – Laura Liebert ’24
Tottingham Award – Miguel Alcaraz Motte ’21

Women’s Varsity Field Hockey
Bekka Joslin Coaches’ Award – Maddy Young ’21
Most Valuable Player Award – Amelia Monahan ’21
Shackett-Berry Award – Sejal Patel ’21

Women’s Junior Varsity Field Hockey
Most Improved Player Award – Elena Brandin ’24
Coaches’ Award – Samantha Davis ’21

Men’s Varsity Football
Coaches’ Award – Gabe Tyson ’21
Most Valuable Player Award – Peter Cleary ’21
McLeod Award – Camden Devlin ’21
Sterndale Award – Jake McKerley ’21

Mountain Biking
Coaches’ Award – Ethan Seeler ’23
Most Valuable Rider Award – Jackson Gates ’22

Men’s Varsity Soccer
Coaches’ Award – Leon Schuette ’21
Most Valuable Player Award – Jordan Cox ’22
Parlanti-Moss Award – TJ McMahon ’21

Men’s Junior Varsity Soccer
Most Improved Player Award – Trevor Kirn ’24
Coaches’ Award – Nicolo Anastasy ’24

Women’s Varsity Soccer
Most Valuable Player Award – Sera Hodgson ’21
Coaches Award – Brooke Nolan ’21
Gulick Award – Lindsey Duggan ’21

Women’s Junior Varsity Soccer
Most Improved Player Award – Dina Hermawan ’21
Coaches’ Award – Alexa Mailloux ’21

Lakes Region Awards

Mountain Biking
Jackson Gates ’22

Cross Country
Julia Guadagno ’22
Miguel Alcaraz Motte ’21

Women’s Varsity Soccer
Sera Hodgson ’21
Lindsey Duggan ’21
Emily Greenwood ’22

Men’s Varsity Soccer
TJ McMahon ’21
Jordan Cox ’22
Leon Schuette ’21

Varsity Field Hockey
Sejal Patel ’21
Amelia Monahan ’21
Casey Chesner ’22

Varsity Football
Tommy McNeal ’21
Jackson Romanek ’23
Peter Cleary ’21

Named Award Descriptions


This award was established in 1980 in memory of the late Donald Tottingham, a fine athlete, outstanding English teacher, and Cross Country Coach, who died in a tragic automobile accident following Commencement in 1979. Tottingham, an avid runner who trained for and competed in numerous marathons and road races, was an inspiration to many. His example influenced the lives of both students and faculty members during his three years at New Hampton School. Each year, this award recognizes that Cross Country runner whose discipline and determination commemorates Tottingham’s spirit.


The Shackett-Berry Field Hockey Award recognizes the spirited commitment to New Hampton School athletics displayed by Ralph Shackett
 ’59, Jennifer Shackett Berry ’83, Kelsey Berry
 ’07, and Emma Berry ’10–all of whom took their foundation as student-athletes from New Hampton School to the collegiate level. The recipient 
of this award is the student-athlete who humbly demonstrates a conscientious commitment to the betterment of the field hockey team. This young woman is the teammate who others most rely upon to advance and support the team on the field through skill, sportsmanship, and school pride. This student-athlete also carries these qualities off the field and into the classroom and campus life.


The U.S. Ambassador to Ireland (1957-61), Scott McLeod died unexpectedly in 1961 while his
 two sons, Van and Dan (NHS ’65), were freshmen. His family established the Scott McLeod Football Award to honor his memory. McLeod, an outstanding sportsman and athlete, received Sports Illustrated’s Silver Anniversary All-American award in recognition of his achievements both as a collegiate football player at Grinnell College (IA) and in his professional life. This award recognizes that football player who exhibits his qualities of outstanding spirit, courage, and sportsmanship.


Established in 1991, this award honors the memory of the late Richard Sterndale, former teacher and head football coach at New Hampton School from 1965 to 1968. Following two operations for brain tumors, Sterndale and his wife Joan returned to New Hampton. During the 1989 season, members of the football team, who made regular visits to help out at the Sterndale home, dedicated their championship season to the former coach. The Sterndale Award recognizes that football player whose contribution to the New Hampton football team began as an underclassman. This player has developed his skills and showed dedication and courage beyond the call of duty.


In 1959, two outstanding soccer players, Christian Parlanti and Thomas Moss combined their talents to lead New Hampton School’s Varsity Soccer team, coached by David Rice, to an undefeated season. Later as alumni, they created the Parlanti- Moss Soccer Award to immortalize that historic season and to recognize that soccer player who best exemplifies the combination of talent, drive, determination, and team spirit of that victorious team. 


Former New Hampton Athletic Director
 Peter Gulick and his wife Ruth — whose daughters Phoebe ’80 and Robin ’82 played for the New Hampton School’s Varsity Women’s Soccer Team — were early supporters of New Hampton’s women’s athletic program. They established this award to recognize both the Women’s Soccer Team and particularly, the contributions of an outstanding female soccer player each season.


The Field Hockey Coaches’ Award is named in honor of longtime Head Coach Bekka Joslin, 2007-2017. Competitive, talented, and steadfast, Coach Joslin was an exceptional leader and mentor to athletes in the field hockey program. Her love of the sport and dedication to her teams are what this award’s recipients exemplify in turn.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


An independent, college preparatory school for boarding and day students, grades 9-12 and postgraduate.

© Copyright 2020 New Hampton School