2021 Fall Athletics Awards Honor Students-Athletes, Teamwork, and Sportsmanship

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Google+
This year’s Fall Athletics Awards Ceremony was held on December 2 and marked a celebratory end to the season. Following a unique fall season in 2020, student-athletes and their teams returned to a more traditional season with a robust game schedule and the return of many cheering spectators. We are grateful for the work of many athletic directors and coaches for their support, planning, and spirit to help make this all possible. Husky pride shined through many challenging games—both in defeat and victory—highlighting the passion of so many athletes and their fans.
The ceremony also marked its return to McEvoy Theater, safely gathering the pack in person. Our coaches along with the Director of Athletics Jamie Arsenault provided highlights and honored the teams and several team members. Thank you to all of our student-athletes for a season of grit, determination, and comradery. Congratulations to all including the students below who were recognized for their contributions in leadership and athleticism at New Hampton School and within the Lakes Region League.

Athletics Awards

Cross Country
Coaches’ Award – Alex Lowe ’23
Most Improved Award – Patcha Chanprankone ’22
Tottingham Award – Camden MacLean ’22

Women’s Varsity Field Hockey
Bekka Joslin Coaches’ Award – Isabella Healey ’23
Most Valuable Player Award – Avery Callison ’23
Shackett-Berry Award – Hadley Rossignol ’22

Women’s Junior Varsity Field Hockey
Most Improved Player Award – Eva Adams ’25
Coaches’ Award – Brigid England ’24

Men’s Varsity Football
Coaches’ Award – Lauren Olinga ’22
Most Valuable Player Award – Matt Murer ’22
McLeod Award – Owen Thornton ’22
Sterndale Award – Jack Hamill ’22

Mountain Biking
Coaches’ Award – Chucheng Paul Tang ’23
Most Valuable Rider Award – Eduardo Garcia Villegas Aguirre ’24

Men’s Varsity Soccer
Coaches’ Award – Jimmy McCool ’22
Most Valuable Player Award – Jordan Cox ’22
Parlanti-Moss Award – Charlie Truesdale ’22

Men’s Junior Varsity A Soccer
Most Improved Player Award – Laurenz Langer ’24
Coaches’ Award – Jack Kidd ’25

Men’s Junior Varsity B Soccer
Most Improved Player Award – Nont Suphap ’22
Coaches’ Award – Christian Boisvert-Flanders ’24

Women’s Varsity Soccer
Most Valuable Player Award – Kaelin Fitzpatrick ’24
Coaches’ Award – Emma Robertson ’22
Gulick Award – Emily Greenwood ’22

Women’s Junior Varsity Soccer
Most Improved Player Award – Julia Trillo Mouzo ’23
Coaches’ Award – Lucy Lopardo ’23

Lakes Region All-Star Awards

Cross Country
Julia Guadagno ’22
Camden MacLean ’22

Women’s Varsity Soccer
Emily Greenwood ’22
Brielle Fitzpatrick ’23

Men’s Varsity Soccer
Jordan Cox ’22
Logan Rockwood ’22

Varsity Field Hockey
Ava Golash ’23
Avery Callison ’23
Casey Chesner ’22

Named Award Descriptions


This award was established in 1980 in memory of the late Donald Tottingham, a fine athlete, outstanding English teacher, and Cross Country Coach, who died in a tragic automobile accident following Commencement in 1979. Tottingham, an avid runner who trained for and competed in numerous marathons and road races, was an inspiration to many. His example influenced the lives of both students and faculty members during his three years at New Hampton School. Each year, this award recognizes that Cross Country runner whose discipline and determination commemorates Tottingham’s spirit.


The Shackett-Berry Field Hockey Award recognizes the spirited commitment to New Hampton School athletics displayed by Ralph Shackett
 ’59, Jennifer Shackett Berry ’83, Kelsey Berry
 ’07, and Emma Berry ’10–all of whom took their foundation as student-athletes from New Hampton School to the collegiate level. The recipient 
of this award is the student-athlete who humbly demonstrates a conscientious commitment to the betterment of the field hockey team. This young woman is the teammate who others most rely upon to advance and support the team on the field through skill, sportsmanship, and school pride. This student-athlete also carries these qualities off the field and into the classroom and campus life.


The U.S. Ambassador to Ireland (1957-61), Scott McLeod died unexpectedly in 1961 while his
 two sons, Van and Dan (NHS ’65), were freshmen. His family established the Scott McLeod Football Award to honor his memory. McLeod, an outstanding sportsman and athlete, received Sports Illustrated’s Silver Anniversary All-American award in recognition of his achievements both as a collegiate football player at Grinnell College (IA) and in his professional life. This award recognizes the football player who exhibits his qualities of outstanding spirit, courage, and sportsmanship.


Established in 1991, this award honors the memory of the late Richard Sterndale, former teacher and head football coach at New Hampton School from 1965 to 1968. Following two operations for brain tumors, Sterndale and his wife Joan returned to New Hampton. During the 1989 season, members of the football team, who made regular visits to help out at the Sterndale home, dedicated their championship season to the former coach. The Sterndale Award recognizes that football player whose contribution to the New Hampton football team began as an underclassman. This player has developed his skills and showed dedication and courage beyond the call of duty.


In 1959, two outstanding soccer players, Christian Parlanti and Thomas Moss combined their talents to lead New Hampton School’s Varsity Soccer team, coached by David Rice, to an undefeated season. Later as alumni, they created the Parlanti- Moss Soccer Award to immortalize that historic season and to recognize that soccer player who best exemplifies the combination of talent, drive, determination, and team spirit of that victorious team. 


Former New Hampton Athletic Director
 Peter Gulick and his wife Ruth — whose daughters Phoebe ’80 and Robin ’82 played for the New Hampton School’s Varsity Women’s Soccer Team — were early supporters of New Hampton’s women’s athletic program. They established this award to recognize both the Women’s Soccer Team and particularly, the contributions of an outstanding female soccer player each season.


The Field Hockey Coaches’ Award is named in honor of longtime Head Coach Bekka Joslin, 2007-2017. Competitive, talented, and steadfast, Coach Joslin was an exceptional leader and mentor to athletes in the field hockey program. Her love of the sport and dedication to her teams are what this award’s recipients exemplify in turn.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


An independent, college preparatory school for boarding and day students, grades 9-12 and postgraduate.

© Copyright 2020 New Hampton School