Spring Athletics Awards 2021: Celebrating Student-Athletes

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Google+
New Hampton School’s spring athletic teams took time to celebrate their student-athletes on Tuesday, May 11 during the Spring Sports Awards. This ceremony honored the efforts, strengths, and grit of these students who have endured some unseasonable temperatures, rigorous training, double-headers, and a shortened athletic schedule due to weather and the pandemic. While the season ended earlier than anticipated, the teams remained competitive and grateful for the games they were able to play in our Lakes Region League. After a spring with no athletics last year, the community welcomed the celebratory event for reflection and recognition during Senior Week. A number of student-athletes also received league and conference awards.
Congratulations to all of our athletes on their spring season and to the students below for their exceptional contributions to leadership, sportsmanship, and athleticism.

All NEPSAC Awards

Cass Belsito ’22, Lacrosse
Julia Pellerin ’23, Lacrosse

Honorable Mentions:

Sam Rivet ’21, Lacrosse
Casey Chesner ’22, Lacrosse

Lakes Region League All-Stars

Liv Arvidson ’23, Softball
Lilli Bills ’24, Softball
Peter Cleary ’21, Baseball
Hugh Barrett ’21, Baseball
Roni Senusglu ’23, Tennis
Trevor Castino ’22, Tennis
Natalie Paul ’21, Tennis
Sophia Hausberger ’22, Tennis
Jimmy McCool ’22, Lacrosse
Jake Connors ’22, Lacrosse
Callie McLaughlin ’21, Lacrosse
Maggie Hamel ’23, Lacrosse
Quinn Ahern ’23, Golf
Cate MacDonald ’23, Golf

New Hampton School Student-Athlete Awards 

Outing Club
Coaches: Mr. Smith & Mr. Jarvis
Coaches’ Award – Becca Simmons ’22

E-Sports Team
Coaches: Mr. Burns & Dr. Duncan
Coaches’ Award – Marcus Chan ’21
Most Outstanding Gamer – Christian Boisvert-Flanders ’24

Women’s Varsity Softball
Coaches: Ms. Williams & Ms. Bridgham
Coaches’ Awards – Liv Arvidson ’23 & Maddy Monahan ’23
Fusick Award – Averi Curran ’23

Men’s Varsity Baseball
Coaches: Mr. Ladd & Mr. Carey
Coaches’ Award – Harry Meehan ’22
Most Valuable Player – Hugh Barrett ’21
Shaw Trophy Award – Jacob McKerley ’21

Varsity Golf
Coach: Mr. Cramer
Coaches’ Award – Quinn Ahern ’23
Most Valuable Golfer – Cate MacDonald ’23

Women’s Varsity Lacrosse
Coaches: Ms. Knowles, Ms. DiBari & Ms. Kent
Coaches’ Award – Callie McLaughlin ’21
Burch, Nolet, Moore Most Valuable Player Award – Sam Rivet ’21
Anna Menke Award – Cass Belsito ’22

Women’s JV Lacrosse
Coaches: Dr. Duncan & Ms. Buteau
Coaches’ Award – Brigid England ’24
Most Improved Player Award – Ariana Bolduc ’23

Men’s Varsity Lacrosse
Coaches: Mr. Henry, Mr. Driscoll, & Mr. Gorman
Coaches’ Awards – Cam Devlin ’21 & Rory Keverline ’21
Burch, Nolet, Moore Most Valuable Player Award – Luke Romanek ’21
Babcock Award – Hunter Henderson ’21 

Men’s JV Lacrosse
Coaches: Mr. Pinkham & Mr. Ellis
Coaches’ Awards – Andrew Sayles ’21
Most Improved Player Award – Joe Gillett ’22

Women’s Varsity Tennis
Coaches: Mr. Brummer
Coaches’ Award – Sophia Hausberger ’22
Most Valuable Player Award – Natalie Paul ’21

Women’s JV Tennis
Coaches: Mrs. Frame
Coaches’ Award – Emma Morel ’24
Most Improved Player Award – Ava Millerick ’24

Men’s Varsity Tennis
Coach: Ms. Lima-De Angelis
Coach’s Award – Trevor Castino ’22 & Leon Schuette ’21
Most Valuable Player Award – George Shegog ’21
Bicknell Award – Roni Senusoglu ’23

Men’s JV Tennis
Coach: Mr. Carter
Coach’s Award – Evan Milchev ’23
Most Improved Player Award – Dan Menzie-Brown ’24

Named Award Descriptions


This trophy, established by the Shaw family in 1967, honors the three generations who played baseball at New Hampton School: Lewis Shaw, 1897; Paul Shaw, 1937; and Jim Shaw, 1963. Jim, a pitcher on the 1963 team that compiled a 13-1 record, continued his baseball career at Dartmouth College and later returned to New Hampton School to both teach and coach baseball from 1967-69. This award is presented to the player whose outstanding ability, effort, and attitude contribute the most to the success of their team.


The Fusick Award was established in honor of Carey Fusick, the student-athlete who founded softball at New Hampton School. In 1994, with the financial backing of her family and the assistance of some dedicated faculty and peers, Ms. Fusick dug out the bases, erected the backstop, and dressed the players for that inaugural season. That quality of sheer determination and tenacity distinguishes each year’s recipient of the Fusick Award.


The Anna Menke Women’s Lacrosse Award was established to honor the dedication, love, and passion for the game of lacrosse by Anna Menke, class of 2012, who distinguished herself during her New Hampton and collegiate lacrosse careers. Her ability to hold herself and her teammates at the highest standard will be remembered by any Husky that stepped on the field with her. She always put her team first while working to better her own game. The Anna Menke Lacrosse Award recognizes the women’s lacrosse player that exhibits both superior athletic skill and dedication to the team, all while setting a high standard of sportsmanship, leadership, and work ethic by which the rest of the team must compete.


Named in honor of the late Lansing Bicknell, former New Hampton School teacher, athletic director, and dedicated tennis coach, the Bicknell Tennis Award recognizes the member of the New Hampton School Varsity Tennis Team who best demonstrates skill, determination, and sportsmanship—qualities that Bicknell demanded from his players.


In 1965 Blake Babcock, then a first-year history teacher at New Hampton School, started competitive lacrosse on campus. A player at Hamilton College, he brought his great knowledge of the game and love of the sport in time for the NHS 1966 spring season. He fielded many competitive and league championship squads in the early days of the game, and will long be remembered for his well-coached, disciplined teams. To commemorate Babcock’s accomplishments, this award recognizes the player whose ability and leadership has contributed most to the team in a given season.


The Burch, Nolet, Moore Most Valuable Player Award for Men’s and Women’s Lacrosse was established to honor four gifted lacrosse players from the Classes of 1973 and 1974. Charles J. Burch III ’73, Daniel A. Burch ’74, Alan D. Nolet ’74, and Robinson C. Moore ’73 who were all instrumental in putting New Hampton School Lacrosse on the map. These four players are being honored for the outstanding dedication, contribution, and talent they displayed while playing lacrosse at New Hampton School. This Most Valuable Player Award recognizes both a Men’s and Women’s lacrosse player who exhibits both superior athletic skill and dedication to the team and school community, all while performing at the highest level and demonstrating the characteristics of leadership, work ethic, and talent. This spring 2021 ceremony marks the inaugural awarding of this named achievement.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


An independent, college preparatory school for boarding and day students, grades 9-12 and postgraduate.

© Copyright 2020 New Hampton School